Olivia Wrap

IMG_0948 skirta

I’m afraid I’m going to start yet another post about what I did with fabric given to me at my “exit party” last fall. Maybe you’re getting a bit tired of this subject, but I have to say I have never before encountered such examples of the “law of unintended consequences”. It feels like I’m getting smacked in the face with them. I never expected that suggesting people bring a metre of fabric as a gift to my party would result in changing the way I dress. Who’d have thought?? But as I’ve tried to match clothing designs to the fabric, that’s what’s been happening.

The picture on the left is from Simple Modern Sewing, which I’ve made several tops from. The picture on the right is my version of the wrap skirt. Olivia, my former colleague, supplied exactly one metre of fabric, which wasn’t quite enough for this skirt. I had to shorten the skirt, because the full length of front and back panels required about four inches I didn’t have. I got some matching fabric for the yoke at the third fabric store I tried. Given that the fabric is grey with a bluish cast, it wasn’t as easy as I thought to find a match.

This is a really perky skirt! I think my version is a lot different from the original because it’s shorter, and because the fabric is 100% cotton, rather than the linen suggested. I found myself pouting in the mirror, trying the knock-kneed coltish look, tugging at my shirt…

skirtb

Notice the high heels? Stage wear, people. I would never wear high heels on the street. Or would I? Aargh, these shoes suit this skirt! It makes me feel so young, and perky, and, oh I don’t know, pouty and coltish 🙂

It’s an amazingly comfortable skirt. Wearing it feels like wearing nothing, which is great on the one hand, but on the other a bit disconcerting. Any breeze at all will blow this skirt up around my waist, I fear, and I do live on the wet-coast rainforest, which is windy.

skirt skirt2

It’s a nice design, a fake wrap that’s really a tube. There are two ties, one of them starting inside the yoke and emerging out of a little hole in the side seam, so you can tie it as tight or loose as you like.

I made the medium and the only change I made was to redraw the sides of the yoke, reducing the slant. This resulted in an extra four inches at the “waist” (my actual waist is quite a few inches higher up).

skirt3

Now this look is totally me. I haven’t worn a skirt this short since I was about 17 (and my skirts then were possibly a full foot shorter), but this is a really comfortable, new look for me. It has occurred to me that the blue-grey fabric (which I love) is maybe too sombre for such a perky design. What do you think? It seems to me more vampish than modest? Does it have a touch of goth? Should I make more? I have a length of dark maroon and grey wool plaid fabric — would that work for a winter skirt? Or should I pick up some lively bright floral fabric to make another summer one?

4 thoughts on “Olivia Wrap”

  1. I have noticed, myself, that longer skirts can be very aging, and I have started wearing much shorter ones, albeit with thick tights. I think it depends on the legs rather than the age of the wearer.

    I think this is a great skirt and a great look. Especially with the white shirt and your hair loose. Go for it – you are looking amazing, and less “oblong” than your usual look, more shaped and showing off your amazing legs. Lovely!

    Like

    1. Kate, you’re too kind 🙂 Do you know, I’ve posted comments to some of your recent blog posts, and they haven’t made it in. Any idea at all what the problem might be?

      Like

      1. I have a horrible confession to make Felicia. I get loads of spam, and as I was deleting it I saw a few comments from you which I cannot now retrieve. Feel terrible. I don’t know why it happened, but I will ensure it doesn’t happen again. sorry…

        Like

Leave a Reply

