Blankie Wrap

I just made two wrap skirts, using the Vogue pattern that also included the shorts I blogged about last time. I guess, since it’s a 1992 pattern, it qualifies as “retro”. There’s nothing retro about this wrap though — to my mind it’s pure classic and timeless.

The first was a wearable toile. I used an old scrap of fabric mostly to check waist and hip fit. The skirt has only two pieces, which join at the centre back. The pattern provided four darts per side. I discovered I didn’t need the front darts, and had to halve the side darts. I also lowered the front a half inch or so. I always have to lower the front waist of anything I make. The pattern also came with a facing (the skirt is not meant to be lined). Well, I mucked around at first trying to create a new facing to incorporate my changes, but that eventually seemed hopeless. So I thought I would just make the skirt again, and call it a lining. Here’s the result.

IMG_0998

I was a little concerned that the overlap could reveal too much, so I added a leather “tab”, which also dressed up this otherwise pretty plain number. I also left the selvege edge unfinished at the hem. This is a really easy skirt to wear. But I regret to say the result gave some foreshadowing of the problems that followed when I made the “real” skirt. For some reason that I still don’t know, the darts on one side of the skirt lining ended up facing inwards instead of outwards. And the right side is supposed to overlap the left. Mine is the opposite.

So, for the “real” skirt, I scavenged the fabric from one of the Thai fisher pants I wrote about a few weeks ago. When I took the pants apart, I had two pieces of fabric just big enough for the two pieces of the skirt. This is fabric I love. Before cutting out the pieces I transferred the pattern pieces onto paper, with all the little changes included. I pinned these fresh, totally perfect, pattern pieces to the fabric and cut out both pieces. Then I discovered …. drum roll here … prepare for the horror …. both sides of the skirt went from centre back around to the right. Both sides. Waaaaah!

Is anybody else as geometrically challenged as I am? I just can’t visualize how something two dimensional becomes three dimensional. I get lost in parking lots. I freak out in malls when I don’t know where the exits are. I have N, S, E and W engraved in my forehead where I live because it’s the only way for me not to get lost in a city I’ve lived in for 30 years. I think there’s something the matter with me. Really.

I still can’t begin to understand how I made two pattern pieces for one side of the body only. I was able to salvage the skirt though. For the side that would be under in front, I added a little fabric remnant that I had, just overlapping it and sewing it to the large piece with a zigzag stitch. That gave me enough fabric to cut out the correct skirt half again, making sure it would go from centre back to the left.

Then I had to try to make the two lining pieces correctly. It was hell! I ended up again with the darts on one side facing in instead of out. How is this possible!

IMG_1004

I’m really happy with the final product though. What do you think?

IMG_1008

IMG_1010

I love this skirt. Isn’t it a classic? I can see modesty might be an issue though, so I’ll probably add a snap part way down the overlap? Or maybe just use a safety pin?

IMG_1012

I didn’t hem the “real” skirt either, and don’t intend to. I topstitched close to the overlap edge, but discovered that made the fabric want to roll. So I inserted little strips of interfacing as a stabilizer and tried again. It worked! Cool. The things I learn from other bloggers! (I’m getting a lot of use of the exclamation mark key on my computer tonight, aren’t I?) I’ll have to make a little more use of my steam iron to get the creases out of the bottom (left over from where the original Thai fishers were hemmed).

6 thoughts on “Blankie Wrap”

  1. I think both skirts are great – and love your styling with the belt; you can’t beat a white shirt. Did you make it? That seems like a very versatile and well used pattern.
    Personally, I have a problem with mental rotation – L and R side – and when I pin on Doris, the R hand side is actually the left.The number of garment I have that button to the ‘wrong’ side………..

    Like

    1. Yes, yes, mental rotation is the problem.I also have left/right issues. Some years ago I studied Persian, and discovered I just *loved* writing from right to left. It felt so totally correct.
      Oh, yes, I made the shirt too. A while back. I can’t decide whether to make another or not. Maybe later.

      Like

  2. Well I think we all have the same issue here. I really struggle with remembering numbers just like Tutti G-Land (I have even written my house number wrong), and I lose the car and turn the wrong way. These are real handicaps, and I have to work really hard, double and triple checking, and writing everything down. I have to check every sleeve, and asymmetric piece again and again. It takes alot of time but it is the only way.

    Having said that I love, just love, this style on you. Like the Thai trousers a really classic shape that looks totally up to date and sculptural. Brilliant work, even if you had more than your fair share of challenges. Only thing to do, is to do it again, and get it right this time.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

