Big girl play pants

So, there’s what I’ve decided is a myth about ugly old lady elastic waist pants. I’ve actually seen this phenomenon once — a woman who had pulled her elastic waist pants up as high as she could over a tucked-in shirt, just like she might have done on a baby. It was an awful sight, and, well, I don’t know how anyone could be that oblivious. But I’m betting there are twenty-year olds who’ve never worn any but elastic waists. Yoga pants, sweatsuits, jogging pants, that’s all many young people wear around here. My prediction is they’ll never wear anything with a woven, interfaced waist band, and those uncomfortable things will be history in another twenty years or so. You’ll have to go vintage to find them 🙂

I wear elastic waist pants, and if I can slip a cord through the casing along with the elastic, well then I think I’m dressing young, not old.  I found a pattern that’s actually labelled “young” and decided to buy it (on drastic sale) primarily to compare it with my own self-drafted yoga harem karate dance pants. It’s a cool Burda pattern for short pants.

IMAG0387

I used an exterior microfibre fabric from my stash, and experimented with putting longer legs on this thing.

 

playpant4

I took a page out of Marcy Tilton’s book actually, and tried two angled wedges, one in front and one in back to make the legs narrower than they would have been if I just followed the inner and outer legs lines.

IMAG0382

This is the front one. The back one is a little less angled, and longer, but without topstitching (I was running out of thread). I have to confess I have no idea how or why angled wedges work. But if anyone decides to try this at home, make sure your pants legs are a couple of inches too long before you start.

They’re fun pants and super comfortable. More comfortable than the harem yoga pants, which give me trouble when I try to scramble into my truck. I plan to make another pair out of linen for the summer.

Unfortunately I had to steal a lace from a hiking boot for this project.

IMAG0388

What will we do about that?

9 thoughts on “Big girl play pants”

  1. Oh the elasticated waistband… you know my thoughts about that but these pants look super comfy and very trendy. Nice touch with the ankle darts – care to share the details?

    Like

Leave a Reply

