Tentative joiner joins

So, for the first time, I’m joining me-made May. I’ve watched others for the past two years, kind of envying them, but I don’t exactly have a lot of experience joining things … I I finally took the plunge this year, after waffling back and forth. My pledge is to wear me-made every day, but I could hardly avoid doing that as I own only a few sweaters and the odd jacket that I haven’t made myself. The real part of the pledge is to never wear the same combination of clothes two days running. This means  I’ll have to a) put clothes away and b)  make a deliberate choice about what to wear in the mornings. It’s easy when you don’t go out to work to throw things on a chair at night before bed and then throw them on the next morning again. This will be a tough challenge!

As to what I’ve been sewing lately, just futzing with a few t-shirts while I prepare to cut into some lovely plaid material for a blouse. I cut up a long-sleeved over-sized t-shirt I made last year, and wasn’t terribly happy with, and made a paper pattern for a sleeveless tank from a couple of different old RTW tanks.

20170501_131041

Sorry for the bad pic — I was taking a few shots for IG. Some of you may remember the fabric. I do like the stripes.

And I like the top so much that I immediately started another one in a small piece of green jersey.

20170501_132225

Um, pardon my toes.

I just made one pattern piece because the difference between front and back is minimal.

So, check out my outfits on IG if you’re interested. I’ll try not to cheat.

6 thoughts on “Tentative joiner joins”

  1. Love the tee pattern and it does look a great fit! Hope your green turns out well, too. I need to do some of those, which is something I think each and every summer. Maybe THIS will be the May I actually get to it… although I’ll not hold my breath.

    Like

      1. No, I don’t generally buy tees. I bought some 9-ish years ago (early time in Chicago & no sewing machine) and they’ve lasted. Now it’s time to make replacements. Have you posted these additions?They sound great… stretch velvet trim? yum-yum! Will mooch around i’net & see . . .

        Like

Leave a Reply

